Control rooms  |  2024-06-07

Finalists Unveiled for 2024 Control Room Awards

Curated by: Gert Jan Wolf - Editor-in Chief for The Critical Communications Review

The Control Room Awards 2024 finalists have been revealed. These awards celebrate the immense skill, commitment, and resilience of individuals and teams working in control rooms. They recognise the vital contributions of control room operators across various services, including police, fire, ambulance, HM Coastguard, and other critical control operations throughout the UK.

Now in their seventh year, the Control Room Awards are the only accolades dedicated to honouring the extraordinary contributions of these often unseen heroes of the emergency services. The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony on July 18 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Stoke on Trent.

The finalists were selected by a high-level judging panel comprising leaders with extensive experience in the control room sector:

Andy Day, Director of Business Development (Public Safety Group), Sopra Steria
Duncan Swan, Chief Operating Officer, British APCO
Ben Hawkins, Former Winner and Ambulance Dispatch Team Leader

Control Room Awards co-founder Mike Isherwood said,

“I would like to thank all our judges for bringing their experience and expertise to the judging process and the organisations they represent for supporting the awards. Our excellent judges each provide a really valuable perspective and give added weight to the awards.

"The outstanding quality of the judging panel also recognises the ever-growing profile within the emergency services sector of control room teams and colleagues – and of these awards which celebrate their vital work. Congratulations to all our finalists. They can look forward to the awards ceremony, which promises to be an amazing celebration of the control room community.”