Narrowband  |  2023-09-15

Radio Club of America Announces 2023 Award and Fellow Recipients

Source: RCA
Curated by: Gert Jan Wolf - Editor-in Chief for The Critical Communications Review

The Radio Club of America (RCA) proudly announces its 2023 annual award recipients and its incoming class of 2023 Fellows. Since 1935, RCA has recognized through its awards program major contributors to wireless communications. This year, thirteen awards are being bestowed, and eight RCA members are being elevated to Fellow status.

The 2023 Awards and Fellows ceremonies will be held at the RCA Awards Banquet in Denver, Colorado at the Hyatt Regency on November 18, 2023.

RCA’s Awards Program

Award recipients are announced each year. Nominations are accepted from anyone in the wireless industry, and the awards are in two broad categories: (i) public awards for anyone involved in wireless, and (ii) member awards that are restricted to RCA members. RCA elevates members to Fellow status at the same event by invitation based on the individual’s contributions to RCA and to the art and sciences of wireless or broadcast communications.

Past award recipients include dozens of legends who created the wireless industry, including Edwin Armstrong, Martin Cooper, Jay Kitchen, Fred Link, Ted Rappaport, Henry Richter, Ulrich Rohde, and Joseph Taylor.

2023 Award Recipients

RCA’s 2023 award recipients join a proud tradition of wireless legends. Each practitioner has dedicated significant time and talent toward the advancement or preservation of skills that advance the wireless industry.

Ajay Poddar, Armstrong Medal

RCA’s first award was presented to Major Edward H. Armstrong for his invention of circuits that made AM and FM radio possible, and for Major Armstrong’s lifetime of championing work that established the foundation for modern radio technology. The award, now known as the Armstrong Medal, is only bestowed when an individual has demonstrated excellence and made lasting contributions to the arts and sciences of radio.
Eugene Tan, Jerry B. Minter Award

This award, established in 1996, recognizes innovative work in instrumentation, avionics, and electronics.

Lynn Bisha, Ralph Batcher Memorial Award

Established in 1976, this award is presented to an RCA member for their significant work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communications.

Steven Nichols, Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Citation

Established in 1975, this award recognizes long-time RCA members who have either made noteworthy
contributions to the success of RCA or to the radio industry. Originally known as the Pioneer Citation, this award was later named in honor of Edgar F. Johnson, the founder of radio manufacturer E.F. Johnson.

Ted Henry, Alfred H. Grebe Award

Alan Tilles, RCA Special Recognition Award

Ray Novak, RCA Special Service Award

Chuck Soulliard, Lee de Forest Award

Steve Floyd, Sarnoff Citation

Tim Duffy and DX Engineering, RCA Business Award

Todd Schlekeway, Jay Kitchen Leadership Award

Karen Clark, RCA President’s Award

Ruth Willet, Carole Perry Young Professional Award

2023 RCA Fellows

Elevation to Fellow is made by invitation to members who are in good standing for at least five years, in recognition of their contributions to the art and science of radio communications, broadcast, or to RCA.

The following RCA members are elevated to Fellow status in 2023: Angela R. Batey Jon Paul Beauchamp, Jeff Bratcher, Cheryl Giggets, Walter (Tom) Loughney Jr., Micheal J. Pappas, Chester “Barney” Scholl, Phillip Kirmuss

Inaugural Awards Named in 2023

Dr. Ulrich Rohde will be honored by the Radio Club of America with the inauguration of a new award in 2023: “Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde Award for Innovation in Applied Radio Science and Engineering.” The award recognizes his significant contributions to innovation in the wireless industry and will inspire future generations of wireless professionals. The first recipient of the new award will be named in 2024.

Dr. Arno A. Penzias will be honored by the Radio Club of America with the inauguration of a new award in 2023: “Dr. Arno A. Penzias Award for Contributions to Basic Research in the Radio Sciences.” The award recognizes his significant contributions to basic research involving RF and related subjects and will inspire future generations of scientific professionals. The first recipient of the new award will be named in 2024.