Nina Myren (Norwegian Directorate for Civil Protection) Joins TCCA Board

Source: The Critical Communications Review | Gert Jan Wolf editor

TCCA has a new Board member in the name of Nina Myren, following elections at the Annual General Meeting held during Critical Communications World in Kuala Lumpur in June.

Nina Myren is senior adviser, strategy, at the Norwegian Directorate for Civil Protection (DSB), department of emergency communications. She takes the place of Dr Barbara Held, Head of Directorate – General Strategy and Central Management at the German Federal Agency for Public Safety Digital Radio (BDBOS), who has stepped down after six years on TCCA’s Board, latterly as Vice-Chair.

“We are sorry to lose Barbara who has made tremendous contributions to TCCA, not least helping to lead the transformation of the Critical Communications World conference programme, and catalysing the creation of the International Governmental Operator Forum. We wish her all the best for the future, and she leaves with our great appreciation and thanks,” said Mladen Vratonjić, TCCA Board Chair.

“Nina brings a new critical communications operator perspective to the Board, and we look forward to learning from her experiences and involvement in the development and introduction of Nødnett, the countrywide critical communications network in Norway.”

Nina has held various positions both within the telecommunications industry and within the Norwegian public safety radio network operator. She has broad experience and knowledge of the field of mission critical communications, and an excellent understanding of all aspects of providing mission critical services to end users, including technical, political and social aspects. Nina’s current role as a senior adviser is linked particularly to ensuring a strategic view on emergency preparedness through secure and robust public safety communication and forward-looking technological solutions.

Mladen Vratonjić was elected unopposed to serve a second two year term as Board Chair. Re-elected to serve a further two years on TCCA’s Board were Ali Helenius (Airbus) and Jeppe Jepsen (Motorola Solutions). Steve Whatson (UK Home Office) was formally elected after being co-opted last year. The Board is completed by Tero Pesonen (Erillisverkot); Francesco Pasquali (Leonardo); Philippe Agard (Nokia) and Jason Johur (Ericsson). Jeppe Jepsen and Tero Pesonen will share the role of Vice-Chair.

Nina Myren is pictured with TCCA Board Chair Mladen Vratonjić during TCCA’s July Board meeting