New board members for FirstNet

Source: FirstNet

Yesterday, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross announced the appointment of four individuals to serve on the Board of the First Responder Network Authority, including three new members. The following are statements on today’s announcement from the FirstNet Board Chair Sue Swenson and the four appointees. FirstNet Board Chair Sue Swenson: “I am pleased to welcome our newest Board members, as well as Sheriff Richard Stanek who is returning for another term. FirstNet has come a long way, but there is still much work to do. With the addition of these individuals to the Board, we are well positioned for the next phase of FirstNet and the implementation and operation of the nationwide public safety broadband network.

“I want to thank our outgoing members for their service to FirstNet and the public safety community, including Ed Reynolds, who was a member of the FirstNet Board since the beginning and brought extensive wireless and executive-level experience to the Finance and Technology committees; Chief Chris Burbank, who served on our Technology Committee and helped expand our relationships with law enforcement officials around the country; and Gov. Jim Douglas, who was Chair of the Finance Committee and provided expert guidance on our budget and was a valuable resource throughout the state plans and governors’ decisions. It was an honor to work with all of these individuals during an important time in the history of FirstNet; from our startup days through the growth and evolution of the organization to where we are today. Their contributions to FirstNet were invaluable and their dedication to public safety unmatched.”